Friday, May 27, 2022
HomeRaceRace ResultsTour of the Campsies Time Trial 2006

Tour of the Campsies Time Trial 2006


Jason McIntyre continued his domination of time trialling with an emphatic win over Arthur Doyle and Berry McGurk in the Tour of the Campsies Time Trial 2006, over two an a half minutes clear.

Tour of the Campsies
Jason McIntyre.

Tour of the Campsies Time Trial 2006 Result

1. Jason McIntyre Velo Eccosse 55.20 (course record)
2. Arthur Doyle Ivy 57.54
3. Barry McGurk Glasgow Couriers 1-0.10
4. Stephen Blom Glasgow Couriers 1-1.13
5. Andy Turnbull Falkirk BC 1-2.50
6. Donald Paterson Unattached 1-2.57
7. Aidon McIlroy Auchencrow Thistle 1-3.53 (junior winner)
8. Paul McInally East Kilbride 1-4.08
9. David Millar Glasgow Couriers 1-4.34 (1st Vet & std)
10. Edd Shackley Ivy 1-5.21
11. Norman Gillan Squadra Porcini 1-5.48
12. Euan Pope Rockhard Racing 1-6.12
13. Andrew McCaffery Ivy 1-6.51
14. Graeme Stewart Edinburgh Road 1-6.51
15. Tom Worthington Nightingale 1-7.43
16. Gordon Graham Fullarton 1-7.49
17. Ian Manson Johnstone Whlrs 1-7.56
18. Jim Leslie 1-8.02
19. David Murphy Nightingale 1-8.10
20. Mark Richards East Kilbride 1-8.29
21. Andrew Nicol Velo Eccosse 1-8.35
22. Jamie McQueen Glasgow Whlrs 1-8.37 (junior)
23. Billy McFarlane Fullarton 1-9.54
24. Duncan Warick Deeside Thistle 1-11.04
25. William Totten Nightingale 1-11.15
26. Claire Thomas Edinburgh RC 1-11.43 (1st Lady)
27. Robin Clark Pedal Power RT 1-11.48
28. David Patrick Glenmarnock 1-12.11
29. Bob Taylor Glasgow Whlrs 1-12.13
30. Scott Donaldson Johnstone Whlrs 1-12.35
31. Stephen Birch East Kilbride 1-12.52
32. Craig McGowan Law Whlrs 1-13.03
33. Mark Symington Glasgow Whlrs 1-13.21
34. Jane Morris Perth United 1-13.54
35. Sharon Doyle Ivy 1-14.28
36. Jamie Ballantine Unattached 1-16.19
37. Martin Kane Forth Valley 1-16.47
38. Jimmy Parker Glasgow Whlrs 1-19.01
39. Andrew Ferguson 1-23.15
40. Andrew Wilson St Christophers 1-24.19
41. Craig Fallow 1-24.40

Hill Climb

1.Jason McIntyre 8.33
2. Arthur Doyle 9.08
3. Andy Turnbull 9.55

Martin Williamson
Martin Williamson
Martin is our Editor, web site Designer and Manager, and concentrates on photography. He's been involved in cycle racing for over 43 years and has raced for many of them, having a varied career which includes time trials, road and track racing, and triathlons. Martin has been the Scottish 25 Mile TT and 100 Mile TT Champion, the British Points Race League Champion on the track, and was a prolific winner of time trials in his day, particularly hilly ones like the Tour de Trossachs and the Meldons MTT.

Related Articles

“Rising Westerly” 100 Mile Time Trial 2006

The results of the "Rising Westerly" 100 Mile Time Trial held on the Aberdeen/Stonehaven/Deeside course, and organised by GS Corsa. Carlos Riise (Shetland Wheelers) made another successful "air"“raid" on mainland cycling by comfortably winning the "Rising Westerly" by over 14 minutes from Granite City RT's Norman Skene. Sadly, Scottish 12hr Champion, Joe Wilson (Sandy Wallace Cycles) crashed at Aboyne and was forced to retire. Carlos reported that Joe was probably just over a minute up on him at the time.

Aberdeen Wheelers AC Yule Trophy 10 Mile Time Trial 2006

The A C Yule Trophy, awarded to the fastest rider from the organising club (Aberdeen Wheelers), was won by veteran roadman Bob Cowie in a time of 25min 13secs. The event was won by Dave Black (Sandy Wallace Cycles) from Forres, in a time of 22min 26secs, beating Tri-changing Gear's Sean Monaghan into 2nd place by a mere 6secs. Sean's Tri-changing Gear team-mate, Colin Duncan was 3rd in 22min 45secs.

Barry McGurk takes the Johnstone Wheelers CC 25 Mile Individual Time Trial 2006

Barry McGurk of the Glasgow Couriers ran away with the Johnstone Wheelers CC 25 Mile Individual Time Trial, nearly two minutes ahead of second placed Alan Dow, with Billy McFarlane third.

At Random

And Now (No And Then) – Dude Where’s My Car?

And Now ... I love that scene from Dude Where’s My Car? So here we sit: Rest Day 2 already! And yet it feels like forever since the Tour started. Weird stuff happens to sports fans in July. The last few days of racing have been typically explosive, with Cav making it 19 TdF career stage wins (good grief the man can find the finish line) yesterday...

Michael Mørkøv – Early Tour de France King of the Mountains

Men of the Tour, thus far ? Wiggins, definitely; Sagan, for sure; Greipel, yes - and, Michael Mørkøv. The Danish ex-World Madison Champion and six day star's stage one breakaway to grab the polka dot jersey and his defence of it for the first week was one of the talking points of the race. Not content with taking all the available points on stage one, he joined the break on stages two and three to make the jersey his own until the stage to La Planche des Belles Filles where the 'bigs' decided to fight it out. We caught up with him on the rest day at the team hotel in Mâcon.

Copenhagen Six Day 2010 – Day Two

'For me, that was the hardest chase of the winter!' The words of Franco Marvulli as he flopped onto the bench in his track side cabin, after he'd just won the night's closing 60 minute madison with Bruno Risi, here at the Copenhagen Six Day.

Matt Rendell – “I want to X-ray the Colombian National Psyche”

That Matt Rendell bloke, who’s on the tele, always asking folk questions? Isn’t it time someone asked him some questions? Especially since he’s got a new book out about one of his passions; Colombian Cycling – ‘Colombia Es Pasion’...

Christina Mackenzie – National 12 Hour Champion 2020

Covid having put paid to her 2020, ‘End to End’ bid after her brave but ultimately unsuccessful 2019 attempt, Christina Mackenzie (Stirlingshire Bicycle Club) had to re-focus and made the CTT 12 Hour Championship her goal for the year. ‘Mission accomplished,’ winning by some 12 miles with a provisional 251.64 miles on a tough course in equally tough conditions.

Adam Duggleby – the new 12 Hour National Competition Record Holder

Here at VeloVeritas we still get excited about competition records so it’s only proper then that we should ‘have a word’ with 33 year-old Adam Duggleby (Vive le Velo), who recently in the Farnborough & Camberley CC National 12 Hour Championship in Hampshire recorded 322 miles (the official distance not yet available), adding around four miles to Andy Wilkinson’s (Port Sunlight Wheelers) 2012 record of 317.97.