Tuesday, September 21, 2021
HomeRaceRace ResultsPhil Young Memorial GP Des Gents 2006

Phil Young Memorial GP Des Gents 2006


The Dunfermline team of I. Condie and R. Wilson won the: Phil Young Memorial GP Des Gents time trial by nearly a minute on actual time, meaning that they also won the race on handicap, but only by a small margin: eight seconds.

Phil Young Memorial
Ray Wilson (eventual winner) hoofs it up Largo Law in a road race.

Phil Young Memorial – Result

(Handicap time first, actual time second)

1. I Condie/R Wilson (Dunfermline) 28-02 31-27
2. R Taylor/D Gibson (Glasgow Wh) 28-10 32-25
3. S Beech/A Dow (Sandy Wallace) 28-42 32-32
4. D McCallum/P Brown (Dundee Wh) 29-40 34-30
4= G Black/R Reidy (Kingdom RT) 29-40 34-20
6. P Lambie/P Gallacher (Fife Cyc 2000) 31-07 32-27
7. A Robertson/M Richards(E Kilbride) 31-27 32-47
8. J May/K Russell (ERC) 31-57 32-17
9. G Barclay/K Barclay (Kirkcaldy & DCC) 32-20 35-00
10. R Hunter/V Hunter (Perth United) 32-34 34-14
11. E Schlordt/J Kermode (Dundee Th) 32-38 35-33
12. G Dick/M Ratter (Lomond Roads) 33-00 33-00
13. A Solway/Jane Morris (Kennoway) 33-10 37-00
14. D Muir/A N other (Fife Cyc 2000) 33-14 34-34
14= G George/A N Other (ERC) 33-14 37-24
16. D Crombie/ Cooper (Dunfermline) 33-18 34-18
17. R Brooks/K Clarke (Deeside Th) 33-21 34-21
18. C Russell/P Handley (ERC) 33-43 35-23
19. K Tait/L Whitelaw (ERC) 33-46 35-06
20. D Mitchell/H Law (Perth Un) 33-51 38-01
21. I Anderson/B Sproul (Dundee Wh) 33-58 34-38
22. B Bunyan/G Bell (Dunfermline) 34-35 35-55
23. J Walker/S Minshull (Lomond Roads) 35-07 35-07
24. D Alari/A N Other (Dunfermline) 36-04 39-19
25. G Jones/O Young (ERC) 36-06 36-26
26. J Foulis/D Clark (Dundee Wh) 36-10 36-50
27. T Bird/G Webb (PCA Cyclos) 36-19 37-59
28. S Nixon/R CAsey (Perth Un) 36-28 38-38
29. S Czemerys/G Smith (Dunfermline) 36-52 40-27
30. B Dunscombe/K McMahon (Kirkcaldy) 38-00 42-40
31. D Ayre/A Ayre (Sandy Wallace) 38-06 43-31
32. J Young/C Morrison (Fife Cyc 2000) 38-49 38-49
33. B Mackie/M Hamilton (Perth Un) 39-49 41-59
34. T Cummings/B Davidson (Kirkcaldy) 41-16 45-16
35. S Vaughan/A Liddell (Dunfermline) 47-45 51-10
36. S Murdoch/G Hamilton (ERC) 52-34 55-59
37. J McKeenan/C McKeenan (Edin Racers) 1-01-17 1-03-12

Martin Williamson
Martin is our Editor, Web site Designer and Manager, and concentrates on photography. He's been involved in cycling for over 42 years and has raced for many of them, having a varied career which includes time trials, road and track racing, and triathlons. Martin has been the Scottish 25 Mile TT and 100 Mile TT Champion, the British Points Race League Champion on the track, and was a prolific winner of time trials in his day, particularly hilly ones like the Tour de Trossachs and the Meldons MTT.

Related Articles

Kyle Gordon – Hurtling to Rapid ’10’ Times!

Kyle Gordon doesn’t seem to have been phased by the disappointment of the HUUB team’s Bolivian record attempts falling victim to the Covid crisis. The versatile man from Alness has recently been knocking out some super-fast 10 mile times as part of his build-up to the CTT ‘25’ and ‘50’ Championships later in the year.

Wilson Renwick – Tour de Trossachs Winner

It was back in May 2015 when Jim Cusick told us about the professional jockey who was riding time trials. Since then Wilson Renwick has swapped equine saddles for the narrower models you find on time trial bikes, winning the Scottish 'Olympic' Time Trial Championship back in the spring of this year and has just added the classic Tour of the Trossachs to his palmares. We caught up with him the day after his epic ride on what was the toughest day most can remember for the event.

Sarah Phillips – Scottish and British Champion in the 90’s

She’s Sarah Rowe these days but in the world of cycling she’s remembered as Sarah Phillips; Scottish Champion at 10 and 25 miles in 1988, 1990 and 1991 with Scottish records at 10 miles with 22:43, 25 miles with 57:18 and 50 miles with 2:00:51 achieved during 1990. Here’s her tale...

Tour de Trossachs 2010 Preview

Although the start sheet for the Tour de Trossachs is still to be finalised, it's looking to be a very interesting race - the field has been extended to accommodate 140 because the race is proving to be popular with riders of all abilities, and sees National Champions and World Champions taking part, as well as newcomers interested in trying out this classic course. Arthur Doyle (Dooleys RT) will defend his title for the third time, but the big question is will he manage to beat both the hill climb and course record set by Jason McIntyre in 2007...

Scottish National 25 mile Time Trial Championship 2012

On a grey, damp but mild and fast Sunday morning on the roads around Blairdrummond near Stirling, Dooleys' Ian Grant added the '25' title to the '50' with a fine 52:26; besting Sandy Wallace's Silas Goldsworthy - whose fight back over the closing miles hauled back a 17 second deficit on Grant down to six at the line. Last year's '50' champion Alan Thomson, took another medal for Sandy Wallace with bronze in 53:09. The event was not without controversy, however.

Gordon Arms Hilly Time Trial 2014 Goes to Oliphant

Raleigh professional Evan Oliphant handled the age old dilemma of the pro racing against amateurs – if they don’t win they’re criticised, but if they do then it’s ‘expected’ – by taking the best option and winning the Gala CC’s Gordon Arms Hilly Time Trial over 20.5 cold and cloudy Borders miles in 50:06; some ways short of Mark Atkinson’s (Velo Ecosse) 1999 course record of 48:47 but enough to give him the result by 41 seconds over Carl Donaldson (GS Metro).

At Random

Reflections on the 2011 Track World Champs – Part III, Endurance Races

We conclude our review of the 2011 World Track Champs from Apeldoorn with a look at the endurance events; only one of which will be in the Olympic programme - the team pursuit. The individual pursuit, madison, scratch and points have all been axed from London.

David Hewett Blog – Highs and Lows

August has been a little bit of a disappointing month for me in some ways. It started with me messing up a big target race and ended with two races heavily disrupted by illness. Having said that, these sandwich a road race win so there’s been success too.

World Famous Photographer John Pierce’s Favourite British Track Stars

He’s at it again – more pictures! This time John Pierce has sent us some of his favourite images of British track stars of the present and recent past; we hope you like them as much as we do.

Christina Murray – the ‘End-to-End Record’ is the ‘Logical Progression’

Christina Murray, a lieutenant colonel in the British Army, goes for the Land's End to John o’ Groats record tomorrow, Sunday 13th September. We found out more about the attempt on the eve of the adventure.

Paolo Bettini – World Road Champion

Some times it's difficult to get an interview, especially if your target is World Road Race Champion, Paolo Bettini. He has a Quick Step entourage with him and he's testing his new Specialized road bike for 2007. But us VeloVeritas guys are persistent, and after stalking him all afternoon I was granted just five minutes of his precious time.

Adam Hansen – The Vuelta isn’t his Favourite Race Anymore!

Adam Hansen was just off the massage table when we caught up with him on Tuesday evening, we couldn't talk during massage because the masseur is a; "full on techno anthems, trance guy,"-just like Davie Urquhart, then? (Just joking, Davie!)