Friday, May 27, 2022
HomeRaceRace PreviewsScottish Olympic Time Trial Championships 2007: Preview

Scottish Olympic Time Trial Championships 2007: Preview


Fullarton Wheelers present the Scottish Olympic Time Trial Championships 2007 this weekend, with double British TT Champion Jason MacIntyre (Edge RT) starting number 39 and last off, in a small field which all the same contains a lot of quality riders.

Scottish Olympic Time Trial Championships 2007
Jason MacIntyre has to be the favourite.

Strip: Eglinton Country Park, Kilwinning (strip open from 08:00a.m.)

Organiser: Willie Stephen – tel: 01294 221176

Scottish Olympic Time Trial Championships 2007 – Starters

1 Gordon Graham – Fullarton Wheelers V40 55.48
2 Stuart Reid – Glasgow Couriers Sen. 58.16
3 John McPaul – Inverclyde Velo V40 56.46
4 Tom Dempster – Edge R.T. Jun. 59.32
5 Stephen Blom – Glasgow Couriers Sen. 53.52
6 Fraser Reid – Unattached Sen.
7 Jenny Wright – Edinburgh R.C. LadySen
8 Garry Brown – Velo Ecosse V40 53.37
9 R.G. McLean – Angus Bikechain V40 56.4
10 Barry McGurk – Glasgow Couriers Sen. 52.42
11 Steve Flindall – Fullarton Wheelers V50 59.42
12 Alan Dow – Sandy Wallace C.C. Sen. 55.11
13 Jennifer Lang – Edinburgh R.C. ladyV40 1.08.40
14 Barry Duncan – Edinburgh R.C. V40 58.56
15 Sean Gray – Edge R.T. Sen. 53.55
16 Michael Summers – Dunfermline C.C. Sen.
17 David Millar – Glasgow Couriers V60 56.15
18 Fiona Duncan – Ythan C.C. LadySen 1.05.11
19 John McCamley – Glasgow Wheelers Sen. 57.52
20 Carlos Riise – Shetland Wheelers V40 52.46
21 Andy Duncan – Ythan C.C. Sen. 1.00.25
22 Silas Goldsworthy – Velo Ecosse Sen. 57.41
23 Hyland Hamilton – Fullarton Wheelers Sen. 1.00.15
24 Christine McLean – Shetland Wheelers LadySen 1.01.56
25 Jim Cusick – Glasgow Couriers V40 52.37
26 David Gunn – Forres C.C. Youth 1.01.11
27 Keith Smith – Caithness C.C. Sen. 57.14
28 Jessica Wilson-Young – Edinburgh R.C. LadySen 1.00.02
29 Alister Watt Granite – City R.T. Sen. 58.25
30 Arthur Doyle – Ivy C.C. Sen. 53.07
31 Neil Muir – Edinburgh R.C. V50 1.01.29
32 Gary Robson – Edge R.T. Sen. 54.11
33 Iain Duguid – Bicycle Works Sen. 57.11
34 Paul Rennie – Edge R.T. Sen.
35 Chris Smart – Glasgow Couriers Sen. 52.00
36 David Wards – Fullarton Wheelers Sen. 1.00.30
37 Norman Skene – Granite City R.T. V50 55.5
38 Bob Taylor – Glasgow Wheelers V60 57.26
39 Jason MacIntyre – Edge R.T. Sen. 49.44

Martin Williamson
Martin Williamson
Martin is our Editor, web site Designer and Manager, and concentrates on photography. He's been involved in cycle racing for over 43 years and has raced for many of them, having a varied career which includes time trials, road and track racing, and triathlons. Martin has been the Scottish 25 Mile TT and 100 Mile TT Champion, the British Points Race League Champion on the track, and was a prolific winner of time trials in his day, particularly hilly ones like the Tour de Trossachs and the Meldons MTT.

Related Articles

Scottish 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2013 – Iain Grant Two In A Row!

On one of those grey Scottish mornings where it looks like the sun might just break through - but it never does - Dooley's Iain Grant successfully defended his Scottish 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2013 title on the rolling A90 dual carriageway east of Laurencekirk on Sunday morning with a sparkling 50:46 course record.

Jim Linden – Part One; Four Times Scottish Best All Rounder

In the ‘whatever happened to?’ file: Mr. Jim Linden, former four times Scottish BAR; six times Scottish individual time trial champion and three times Scottish record breaker. The good news is that we can report that he’s alive and well and living in Hong Kong where, at 84 years-of-age he’s still working as a consultant.

David Gibson – Five Decades of Winning

David Gibson is one of those guys that seems to never have stopped, although in reality it's been few years since he last raced. To be fair it seems reasonable for him to at last ease up a bit although he takes full advantage of the early morning drop-in sessions at the Sir Chris Hoy velodrome to keep himself in shape.

Preview – The Scottish National 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2009

Organiser Isobel Smith is certainly hoping the recent run of fine weather continues for her race on Sunday morning, the Scottish National 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2009.

Kyle Gordon – Big Plans for 2020 and Life in the HUUB House

But we’re pretty sure that no 100 mile time trial champion has ever been on the keirin podium? Enter, that man Kyle Gordon – quality time tester, ever-improving pursuiter and now sprinter. We caught up with the man from Alness just before he jetted off to Australia and a round of the UCI Track World Cup.

Scottish 25 Mile TT Championship 2019 goes to Kyle Gordon

On a rain sodden but mild and fast Sunday morning on the A90 Dundee to Aberdeen dual carriageway, starting and finishing at Forfar, Kyle Gordon (RT23) added to his Scottish 10 Mile TT Title with a rapid 48:53 to win the Scottish 25 Mile TT Championship 2019 crown from jockey-turned-bike-rider, former Olympic TT Champion, Wilson Renwick (Java Partizan Pro Cycling Team) on 49:16 and former Hill Climb Champion, David Griffiths (Bioracer-Moriarty Bikes) with 49:24.

At Random

Starting Again; Training on Sanibel Island, Florida

Florida would be a great place for time-trialling. Its pan flat. The only elevation you find are bridges. It’s flatter than both Holland and Belgium which is saying something. It’s rarely windy which means as soon as you’re out riding holding 20mph (32kph) is child’s-play. That makes riding really quite fun. Endurance rides are around 35kph and you really get the miles clocked up. Sometimes it feels like you’re in a race you’re going so fast.

Giro d’Italia 2012 – Stage 8: Sulmona – Lago Laceno 229km. We’re There!

'Lago Laceno, May 13, 2012 – Italy’s Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF Inox) won stage eight of the Giro d’Italia with a lone attack on the steep climb to Lake Laceno, near Naples. Canada’s Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) retained the overall race lead. Spain’s Joaquin Rodriguez is second at just nine seconds.'

Escaping City Life with the Glasgow Cycling Clubs

Glasgow in the 70’s wasn’t the stylish, cultured city it is now; the London Government still hadn’t forgotten or forgiven 1919 with troops on the streets as ‘The Dear Green Place’ teetered on the brink of a ‘Red Revolution.’ The rider in our tale was a member of several Glasgow cycling clubs which meant an escape from the 'rough edges' of the city.

Matt Gibson – UCI European U23 Scratch Race Champion 2015

Le Tour is like Pac-Man, it gobbles up every bit of attention there is in the world of bike racing; the Tour of Austria runs concurrently but you wouldn’t realise. For the record, Victor de la Parte of UCI Continental Team Voralberg won it; beating six World Tour and seven Pro Continental teams in the process. In addition there were the UCI European U23 Track Championships in Athens – stand out rides were a sub four minute team pursuit by the GB squad to win and a win in the scratch race by one of the pursuit team members – Matt Gibson.

Don Allan – Six Day Legend, Part One

f you know your Six Day stats then you'll be aware that the Australian pairing of Danny Clark and Don Allan is the ninth most successful ever, based on wins, with 15; but fifth most successful ever based on points from top four finishes - 15 wins, 15 second places, 11 third places and 12 fourth places.

Stage 11 of the Giro d’Italia 2010 – Redux

Apologies for not updating the site for a little while folks - we've both been very busy with our day jobs. Ed has been clearing the decks before heading over to Italy to cover the Giro d'Italia shortly, and so to get us in the mood we thought you'd enjoy revisiting one of our diary articles from Stage 11 of last year's race, a 262km haul from Lucera to L'Aquila, when a break of over 50 riders threatened to overturn the race completely...