Saturday, July 24, 2021
HomeRaceRace ResultsInverclyde Velo CC 10 Mile Time Trial

Inverclyde Velo CC 10 Mile Time Trial


Iain Sim (Glasgow Couriers) took a good win today in the Inverclyde Velo 10 mile TT ahead of some very fast riders who are building form for the forthcoming National 25 Champs.

Inverclyde Velo
Iain Sim.

A relatively small field this evening turned up at the Bishopton Community Hall, with quite a few riders deciding not to start – most likely due to the unsavoury weather conditions and a major delay on the M8 westbound.

1Iain SimGlasgow CouriersSenior21:11
2Graeme CockburnGlasgow NightingaleV4021:30
3Jim CusickGlasgow CouriersV4021:43
4Jeremy GreengrassGlasgow NightingaleV4021:45
5Matt HennonInverclyde Velo CCSenior22:01
6Hugh JamiesonDooleys Cycles RTV4022:09
7Gordon GrahamFullarton WheelersV4022:13
8David MillarGlasgow CouriersV6022:26
9Gordon DickLomond RoadsV4022:33
10Douglas NicholsonDooleys Cycles RTV4022:34
11Neil WalkerWalkers Cycling ClubSenior22:45
12John MccroryGlasgow United CCV4023:12
13James MacDonaldJohnstone WheelersSenior23:13
14Frank KennedyJohnstone WheelersV5023:25
15Alex McPheeAyr Roads CC?23:28
16Alan BrownDooleys Cycles RTV4023:38
17James HendrieVC Glasgow SouthV4023:53
18Paul GarezeLomond RoadsSenior23:59
19Richard MacPhersonGlasgow United CCSenior24:00
20Eric EassonGlasgow WheelersV6024:02
21Graham JonesEdinburgh RCV4024:04
22Alan HolmesInverclyde Velo CCV4024:05
23Craig MacGowanLaw wheelersSenior24:06
24Bob TaylorDooleys Cycles RTV6024:36
25Robert KellyAyr Roads CCSenior24:37
26Jeff SmithGlasgow CouriersV4024:43
27Billy McMillanUnattachedV6025:06
28David LangGlasgow WheelersV5025:14
29Mike FergusonJohnstone WheelersV5025:17
30Alister SpeedFife Century ClubV4025:22
31Martin ShieldsAyr roads CCV4025:45
32Val MartinAyr Roads CCLady25:47
33Tommy GribbonWalkers Cycling ClubV4026:12
34David HaddockInverclyde Velo CCV4026:18
35Graeme ShieldsGlasgow WheelersSenior27:28
36Michael DevlinSt Christophers CCV6028:51
 Gordon JohnstonClassic WallsV70DNS
 Andrew UnderwoodGlasgow WheelersSeniorDNS
 Sandy WallaceSandy Wallace CyclesV60DNS
 Stephen GrierLoudon RCSeniorDNS
 Ross StrachanLoudon RCSeniorDNS
 Tom MacDonaldLomond RoadsSeniorDNS
 Charles AdamsVC Glasgow SouthV50DNS
 Iain GrantJohnstone WheelersSeniorDNS
 Paul MurrayGlasgow United CCV40DNS
 Jane StevensonEdinburgh RCV40 — LadyDNS
 Peter SmithGlasgow WheelersSeniorDNS
 David GibsonDooleys Cycles RTV40DNS
Martin Williamson
Martin is our Editor, Web site Designer and Manager, and concentrates on photography. He's been involved in cycling for over 42 years and has raced for many of them, having a varied career which includes time trials, road and track racing, and triathlons. Martin has been the Scottish 25 Mile TT and 100 Mile TT Champion, the British Points Race League Champion on the track, and was a prolific winner of time trials in his day, particularly hilly ones like the Tour de Trossachs and the Meldons MTT.

Related Articles

The Scottish National 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2009

It took Arthur Doyle (Dooleys) just 51:33 to join the likes of Billy Bilsland, Graeme Obree and Jason MacIntyre on the roll of honour for the Scottish National 25 Mile Time Trial Championship on a warm but windy Sunday morning on the fast dual carriageway of the A90 Laurencekirk by-pass.

Michael Nicholson – Out Hard and Suffering Back

Michael Nicholson's (Dooleys) first '50' was a 1:51 and it took him to the Scottish title on a wind swept Saturday night along the banks of the Cromarty Firth. We thought we'd better have a word with the man.

Preview – The Scottish National 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2009

Organiser Isobel Smith is certainly hoping the recent run of fine weather continues for her race on Sunday morning, the Scottish National 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2009.

Scottish 10 Mile Time Trial Championship 2009

Scottish 10 Mile Time Trial Championship 2009 - Scottish time trialling came within ten seconds of a major upset on the wind swept tarmac of the A77 near Newton Mearns on Saturday morning as 45 year-old Peter Ettles (Forres) thrashed his 104" fixed gear to within that many seconds of defending 10 mile champion and current short distance king, Arthur Doyle (Dooleys).

At Random

Rob Simpson – the Man Behind “Velo Sportive”

Despite my bemusement at the popularity of Sportives - as Vik says; 'you go out on your bike to get away from folk, not ride round with 500 others!' there's no denying their popularity. Rob Simpson is the man behind 'Velo Sportive' who organise participation in Sportives and will be promoting his first sportiv in April - we decided to reach out to him and seek enlightenment.

Tri Changing Gear CC 16ml Hilly TT 2007. Jonathan Copp Prevails

The result of the Tri Changing Gear CC 16ml Hilly TT. An excellent ride by Jonathan Copp to take this race, with Carlos a little unfortunate having punctured just before the start and ending up riding on someone's borrowed "winter bike" rear wheel.

Gent Six Day 2012 – Saturday Night

There are tired legs in the bunch but on a wet and windy Saturday night at the Gent Six Day 2012 all roads again led to Het Kuipke for another sell out beer and bike racing fest.

Tony Doyle – Britain’s Greatest Ever Six Day Rider

As a web site which tries to keep its readers in touch with what’s happening on the winter boards; it’s remiss of us not to have spoken before now to Britain’s greatest ever Six Day rider – Tony Doyle, MBE. Other ‘Brits’ rode the ‘races to nowhere’ – Tony Gowland even managed to win two Six Days (off 31 starts); London (with Patrick Sercu) and Montreal with (Gianni Motta).

Mike Greaves – HiVelo; a Velodrome in the Scottish Highlands

Recently we ran a piece about Dave Viner’s efforts to get an indoor velodrome built for Birmingham. ‘Unknowns to us’ at the time, there’s a similar project trying to get off the ground much closer to home – the City on the Ness to be specific. We spoke to Mike Greaves, one of the men behind the project...

Michael Mørkøv – It’s time to stop calling him a “Six Day Star”

The last time we spoke to Danish six day star Michael Mørkøv was back in June after he’d pulled off a brilliant but unexpected win in the Danish Elite Road race Championships for his Saxo-Tinkoff team. And he’s done it again – this time taking a beautiful stage win in the Vuelta, out sprinting the entire peloton to win Stage Six on the day when Tony Martin (QuickStep & Germany) came close to pulling off what would have been one of the all time great Grand Tour stage wins.