Monday, December 6, 2021
HomeRaceRace ResultsMontepaschi Strade Bianche 2010

Montepaschi Strade Bianche 2010


Kazakh rider: Maxim Iglinskiy (Astana) could barely raise an arm in victory at the Montepaschi Strade Bianche, after a crash earlier in the day, and five hours of hard racing over the Tuscan dirt roads.

A tired Iglinskiy just about raises an arm to celebrate.

Thomas Löfkvist (Team Sky) attacked the remains of the front group of 11 men as they got to within 6km of Siena, knowing that a good placing in the final few corners were vital if he was going to repeat his win of last year.

Montepaschi Strade Bianche
Mick Rogers rode a good race, making the final selection in Siena.

Michael Rogers (HTC-Columbia) knew very well that his teammate from last year was doing the right thing, and immediately went with him, as did Canada’s Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Transitions), with Iglinskiy clawing himself up too.

Italian Champ Filippo Pozzato (Katusha) and Francesco Ginanni (Androni Giocattoli) came across the gap a minute later, but once in the narrow paved streets and corners of Siena, they both got dropped again, Hesjedal unable to keep with the front three as well.

Montepaschi Strade Bianche
Tyler landed hard in the dust.

There were lots of crashes in the dust, with Tyler Farrar and Matt Lloyd amongst the notables, both able to get back up at least. Team Sky neo-pro Pete Kennaugh wasn’t so lucky however, and had to be taken to hospital by ambulance.

Montepaschi Strade Bianche 2010 Result

1 Maxim Iglinskiy (Kaz) Astana 4:59:48
2 Thomas Löfkvist (Swe) Sky Professional Cycling Team 0:00:01
3 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team HTC – Columbia
4 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Team Katusha 0:00:18
5 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin – Transitions 0:00:19
6 Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:24
7 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:43
8 Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Spa) Sky Professional Cycling Team
9 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana 0:00:49
10 Daniele Righi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
11 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Team Saxo Bank 0:01:19
12 Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo Bank 0:01:41
13 Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
14 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
15 Simon Spilak (Slo) Lampre-Farnese Vini
16 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
17 Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
18 Simon Clarke (Aus) ISD – Neri 0:03:04
19 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
20 Assan Bazayev (Kaz) Astana
21 Peter Velits (Svk) Team HTC – Columbia
22 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
23 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) ISD – Neri
24 Thomas Frei (Swi) BMC Racing Team 0:03:40
25 Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team
26 Rene Mandri (Est) AG2R La Mondiale 0:03:43
27 Massimo Codol (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
28 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Team HTC – Columbia 0:04:08
29 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Team HTC – Columbia
30 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Team Katusha 0:06:15
31 Carlo Scognamiglio (Ita) ISD – Neri
32 Michael Barry (Can) Sky Professional Cycling Team
33 Francesco Failli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
34 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Team HTC – Columbia
35 Nikita Eskov (Rus) Team Katusha
36 Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
37 Matthew Wilson (Aus) Garmin – Transitions
38 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
39 Martijn Maaskant (Ned) Garmin – Transitions
40 Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) ISD – Neri
41 Alexander Efimkin (Rus) AG2R La Mondiale
42 Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
43 Kristjan Koren (Slo) Liquigas-Doimo
44 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Professional Cycling Team
45 Gabriel Rasch (Nor) Cervélo TestTeam
46 Martin Elmiger (Swi) AG2R La Mondiale
47 Allan Davis (Aus) Astana
48 Ian Stannard (GBr) Sky Professional Cycling Team
49 Ludovic Turpin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
50 Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Androni Giocattoli
51 Massimo Giunti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
52 Jan Bakelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
53 Murilo Antonio Fischer (Bra) Garmin – Transitions
54 Roger Hammond (GBr) Cervélo TestTeam
55 Tiziano Dall’Antonia (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
56 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team
57 Stuart O’Grady (Aus) Team Saxo Bank
58 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Sky Professional Cycling Team
59 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Team Katusha 0:06:48
60 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Cervélo TestTeam 0:08:12
61 Valeriy Dmitriyev (Kaz) Astana 0:10:17
62 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
63 Marco Bandiera (Ita) Team Katusha 0:13:30
64 Dmitro Kryvtsov (Ukr) ISD – Neri
65 Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team

Martin Williamson
Martin is our Editor, Web site Designer and Manager, and concentrates on photography. He's been involved in cycling for over 42 years and has raced for many of them, having a varied career which includes time trials, road and track racing, and triathlons. Martin has been the Scottish 25 Mile TT and 100 Mile TT Champion, the British Points Race League Champion on the track, and was a prolific winner of time trials in his day, particularly hilly ones like the Tour de Trossachs and the Meldons MTT.

Related Articles

Kuurne Brussels Kuurne 2011

Sky Procycling just missed the win yesterday with Flecha finishing second in Het Nieuwsblad, but the team stepped it up a notch today, setting up Chris Sutton perfectly for a superb win in the bunch sprint at Kuurne - Brussels - Kuurne.

Challenge Ciclista a Mallorca

Robbie Mcewen, Oscar Freire, Linus Gedermann, Rui Costa, and Andre Greipel took the five one-day races that make up the Challenge Ciclista a Mallorca, which suffered from the weather like other events around the Med. Great to see Jens Voigt back in action and winning a competition too.

At Random

Hope Technology Unveil Groundbreaking Track Bike

Hope Technology and Lotus Engineering have unveiled their exciting cycling collaboration – an innovative new track bike designed to help the Great Britain Cycling Team (GBCT) achieve their best possible performances in the hunt for medals at next summer’s Olympic Games.

Rohan Dennis, the Tour de France’s first Maillot Jaune

Stage One of this year’s Tour looked tailor made for Tony Martin (Germany & QuickStep); or just maybe rising Giant home boy chronostar Tom Dumoulin? - but a name which kept appearing in the Australian press as Le Tour loomed large was that of BMC’s 25 year-old South Australian rider, Rohan Dennis.

Saunier Duval Team Launch 2007 – Day 3

The third day, and it's the big one, your actual Saunier Duval Team Launch 2007. I wrote-up my Gianetti and Ventoso interviews in the room first thing then came down for some grub. You can read the interview with Franciso here.

Tour of the Campsies 2021 Goes to Chris Smart

We liked our jaunt to the Tour of the Campsies last year and feel at home among the rolling countryside and green hills there so we headed west, first of all paying our respects to the Robert Millar mural at the foot of the Crow Road; when you watch Roglič take the Lagos di Covadonga stage in the Vuelta it’s difficult to imagine the wee fella from Glasgow winning that stage – but win it he did.

Le Tour de France 2017 – Stage 1: Düsseldorf, 14km ITT. Thomas in the Rain!

Due to the fact that I read about/talk about/write about bike racing every day I have a monstrous ego regarding le velo and hate to get anything on the subject wrong. However, I would be delighted if the following statement proves to be erroneous; ‘Christopher Froome of Team Sky has won the Tour de France already.’

Happy New Year 2019!

Nearly 2019, how did that happen? It seems just like last week were sitting in the Vivaldi bar in Gent having watched Dane Michael Valgreen win Het Nieuwsblad - or Gent-Gent as us auld yins would have it - but another year has indeed almost gone.