Sunday, November 28, 2021
HomeRaceRace ReviewsBritish Road Race Championships 2010 Redux

British Road Race Championships 2010 Redux


The British Road Race Championships 2010 on the 27th June was a race of attrition, but the riders started leaving via the back door very early in the race, due to the severity of the the seven-mile circuit around the Lancashire town of Barley, which was pretty much either up or down all day.

Perhaps it had more to do with the pace set by the riders from Team Sky, who, with their numerical advantage and ProTour status took responsibility for the race, forcing the major break on the first of the fifteen laps.

British Road Race Championships 2010
Jez Hunt – a MAN!

After over five hours of undulating torture, Geraint Thomas outsprinted his teammate Peter Kennaugh for the title after the third Sky rider in the break, Ian Stannard – who was suffering like a dog, was finally dropped, leaving the two youngsters to it.

VeloVeritas travelled to the Championship, to watch the action and help out a few of the riders with bottles and the like, so we thought you’d like to see the photos from our trip – particularly since Geraint wore his British Champion’s jersey with such valour in the Tour de France.

British Road Race Championships 2010 – Gallery

* * *

British Road Race Championships 2010 – Result

1. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) 180 kilometres in 5-07-08
2. Peter Kennaugh (Team Sky) at same time
3. Ian Stannard (Team Sky) at 2-20
4. Jeremy Hunt (Cervelo Test Team) at 7-59
5. Simon Richardson (Sigma Sport-Specialized) at 8-23
6. David Clarke (Pendragon-Le Col-Colnago) at 10-41
7. Dan Fleeman (Team Raleigh) at 10-43
8. Andy Fenn (100% ME) at 13-56
9. Rob Partridge (Endura) at 17-24
10. Paul Esposti (BCV) at 17-25
11. Chris Froome (Team Sky) 17-54
@ 1 lap
12. Rhys Lloyd (Pendragon-Le Col-Colnago)
13. Kristian House (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)
14. Ross Creber (Endura)
15. Ben Greenwood (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)
16. Richard Cartland (Corley Cycles)
17. Doug Dewey (Pendragon-Le Col-Colnago)
18. Tomas Swift-Metcalfe (Palmeiras Resort)
19. Steve Lampier (Pendragon-Le Col-Colnago)
20. Tim Kennaugh (100% ME)

Martin Williamson
Martin is our Editor, Web site Designer and Manager, and concentrates on photography. He's been involved in cycling for over 42 years and has raced for many of them, having a varied career which includes time trials, road and track racing, and triathlons. Martin has been the Scottish 25 Mile TT and 100 Mile TT Champion, the British Points Race League Champion on the track, and was a prolific winner of time trials in his day, particularly hilly ones like the Tour de Trossachs and the Meldons MTT.

Related Articles

Tom Copeland – his entry to the Nationals … Can someone explain please?

VeloVeritas is heading down to the British National Elite Road Race Championship on the 27th of this month. We thought we'd check in with 'our' boys, Hamish Haynes, Dan Fleeman, Dan Patten and Tom Copeland to tell them we'd be around to pester them, and to lend a hand with bike prep, feeding and anything else they might need. Here's what Tom Copeland had to say to us, in reply.

Cycling Scandals and Gossip – it must be Tour time!

Before we go any further with the Cycling Scandals and Gossip, our apologies for the lack of words and pics on the National road race - the VeloVeritas team were all too busy with that 'life stuff' this week, sorry. However, we'll run them post Tour; to help ease that PTSF - 'Post Tour Stress Disorder.'

At Random

Lotto Zesdaagse van Hasselt 2007 – Day 6

It must be the end of term at Lotto Zesdaagse van Hasselt 2007; "Mr. Happy", stoney-faced derny pilot and former king of the big motor drivers, Bruno Walrave was actually laughing at breakfast - hey! It's pay day today too - always good for morale.

Martyn Irvine – Two Silver Medals at the Glasgow UCI Track World Cup

One of the stars of the Glasgow World Cup endurance events was Martyn Irvine. Although better known as an omnium specialist, the 27 year old took silver medals in the scratch and pursuit.

Mark Stewart – World Cup Points Race Winner Dropped from Team GB

The thing about being on a World Tour or Pro Conti professional team is that your fate doesn’t hang on just one ride. But it seems that it does with British Cycling. Mark Stewart, had a strong winter 2019/20 World Cup campaign, but despite those rides Stewart has been axed from the GB team on the strength of an admittedly below par 12th place ride in the World Points Race Championship in Berlin.

Gent Six Day 2010 – Second Night, Local Leaders Keisse-Schep

A thought from the Gent Six Day 2010: It would be easy to go native, work all the Sixes, get a job in a bike shop or with a little team for the summer, forget the "25" champs, the 'day job.' The Sixes are seductive, the rolling presentation, the music, the lights, the banter, the 'insider' chat, the gleaming bikes, the pretty girls, the total isolation from reality.

Gary Hand – An Eye for Detail

We've previewed Saturday's second round of the Super 6 here, so we thought we'd better have a word with the Series leader, Gary Hand of Pedal Power.

Giro d’Italia – Day 8: Stage 19, Legnano – Presolana/Monte Pora

Buon giorno di Legnano! Another German stage win and the Gazzetta front page says - "three days of truth waiting to attack Contador" - old Jens doesn't get so much as a mention until the fourth page of Giro reports, deep in the paper - like I said yesterday, the Italians just love the Germans winning their tappas...