Tuesday, May 24, 2022
HomeRaceRace ReviewsGiro d'Italia 2012 - Stage 1: Herning (ITT) 8.7km. The Head Says...

Giro d’Italia 2012 – Stage 1: Herning (ITT) 8.7km. The Head Says Phinney


My heart says Alex, but my head says Phinney,’ my statement as I walked out the door of our rented cottage in search of a stable wi-fi connection. I would have loved Alex Rasmussen to win, but something told me that he wasn’t ‘sparkling.’ And the same voice told me the Giro d’Italia 2012 – Stage 1 around Herning was too far for Geraint Thomas.

The Romandie prologue was perfect – less than team pursuit distance.

But Herning was more than double that – Geraint hasn’t had time to get back the base you need to hang on at the limit for ten minutes.