Wednesday, January 26, 2022
HomeRaceRace ReviewsGiro d'Italia 2013 - Stage 10: Cordenons - Montasio 167km. Sky's Rigoberto...

Giro d’Italia 2013 – Stage 10: Cordenons – Montasio 167km. Sky’s Rigoberto Uran Prevails


The Giro isn’t over for Bradley Wiggins, but every day he has like today makes it harder to envisage that he’ll make the podium in Brescia. He lost time again today as team mate Rigoberto Uran launched an attack with five miles to go and no one could get him back; the plan looked to be that all Brad had to do was sit on the other GC riders as they chased Rigoberto Uran.

But as has happened to Sky numerous times in this Giro, things didn’t go according to the script.

Wiggins couldn’t respond when the ‘digs’ went in and he lost a minute to Nibali, Evans – and Uran.

If the trend continues then Sky will have to switch horses and bet on Uran.

Rigoberto Uran. Photo©LaPresse

A podium for Rigoberto Uran, the former Columbian track champion plus his stage win, the TTT and anything else that Sky picks up between now and Brescia mean that the race has hardly been a disaster for them.

There’s a big ‘but’ though, old Rigoberto may be a quality rider but he doesn’t come from Wigan, has a dodgy haircut and will be jumping ship at the year’s end – so even if he does make the podium it’s of little PR value to Sky.

Brad is the story, not Rigoberto – and nor is Chris Froome the story.

The Brits like their heroes home grown; with Middle England in particular suspicious of Johnny Foreigner.

So what about Brad’s less than spectacular Giro?

Far be it from me to question Sky’s methods, but he looks to me like he lacks race miles – it wouldn’t surprise me if he comes in to good form in the last week.

Bradley Wiggins. Photo©LaPresse

Last year he came into the Tour of a full stage race programme and with solid wins under his belt.

It doesn’t matter how good you are, if you haven’t demonstrated to yourself that you have good form then there’s always that doubt there.

Merckx at the peak of his powers would be panicking if he hadn’t won a race in the last week.

It doesn’t matter what your time is up such-and-such a mountain or what your watts are – it doesn’t start to pour with freezing rain on a WattBike and there’s no crazy Italian trying to derail your rhythm.

And the downside of Sky’s – and most of professional cycling’s – obsession with riders’ body fat; when it’s cold and wet it’s a nightmare if there’s hardly a pick of flesh on your bones.

Sky’s Classics campaign wasn’t the best; when boring old pains in the bum like Vik, Ivan, Dave and I saw they weren’t riding Tirreno or Paris-Nice our eyebrows raised.

The results proved us correct and it looks to me like Bradley is suffering from the same malaise as the Classics guys – too much analysis, tech and watts and not enough racing.

And whilst I’m not a ‘tweeter,’ I hear tell that Froome tweeted congratulations to Uran, apparently his first comment of the whole race…

But there’s still a long way to go to Brescia.

And it’s too far for Ryder Hesjedal, today was a disaster, he dropped a monstrous 21 minutes on the stage, finishing in a gruppetto.

On the plus side he’s no danger now and will be allowed to go up the road; JV will need something to save his Giro.

In my Giro preview I said that Basso, Evans and Sanchez wouldn’t figure; Basso didn’t even start and Sanchez is at eight minutes – but I got it badly wrong with Evans.

Rigoberto Uran
Cadel Evans is surprising people. Photo©LaPresse

Again, today he was there with the very best and a podium looks well possible – but you’d have got long odds at William Hill’s on that, two weeks ago.

And spare a thought for Mattia Gavazzi (Androni Giocatolli) he’s stone last at 2:31:26 – and the race isn’t half way yet.

Result - Giro d'Italia 2013 - Stage 10: Cordenons - Montasio 167km

Stage Result

1 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling 4:37:42
2 Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Ag2R La Mondiale 0:00:20
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:00:31
4 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
5 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team
6 Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2R La Mondiale
8 Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack Leopard 0:00:47
9 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:06
10 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:01:08
11 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida 0:01:10
12 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-Merida
13 Yury Trofimov (Rus) Katusha
14 Robert Gesink (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 0:01:16
15 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:02:11
16 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling
17 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Sky Procycling
18 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team 0:02:25
19 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling 0:03:14
20 Francis Mourey (Fra) FDJ 0:03:16
21 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team
22 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia 0:03:19
23 Diego Rosa (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:03:28
24 Rafael Valls Ferri (Spa) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 0:03:53
25 José Herrada Lopez (Spa) Movistar Team 0:04:01
26 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:04:22
27 Francis De Greef (Bel) Lotto Belisol
28 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Movistar Team 0:04:38
29 Tiago Machado (Por) RadioShack Leopard 0:05:19
30 Evgeny Petrov (Rus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:05:45
31 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 0:05:48
32 Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:06:36
33 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
34 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli
35 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Sky Procycling 0:07:02
36 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha
37 Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli 0:08:12
38 Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Lampre-Merida 0:08:30
39 Hubert Dupont (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale
40 Stef Clement (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 0:08:47
41 Serge Pauwels (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:09:46
42 Egoi Martinez De Esteban (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
43 Gorka Verdugo Marcotegui (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:10:32
44 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:12:14
45 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 0:12:43
46 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Katusha
47 Petr Ignatenko (Rus) Katusha
48 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:12:45
49 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:14:51
50 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) RadioShack Leopard
51 Thomas Damuseau (Fra) Team Argos-Shimano
52 Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia
53 Mads Christensen (Den) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
54 Robert Vrecer (Slo) Euskaltel-Euskadi
55 Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:15:00
56 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia 0:15:40
57 Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:17:02
58 Kenny Dehaes (Bel) Lotto Belisol 0:17:31
59 Xabier Zandio Echaide (Spa) Sky Procycling 0:18:29
60 Pablo Lastras Garcia (Spa) Movistar Team