Monday, January 24, 2022
HomeRaceRace ReviewsScottish 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2014 - Three in a Row...

Scottish 25 Mile Time Trial Championship 2014 – Three in a Row for Ian Grant


On a blustery, squally day on the dual carriageways of the A78 and A71 around Irvine and Kilmarnock on Sunday morning, Dooley’s Iain Grant added the Scottish 25 Mile Time Trial title to the “10” with a stunning 50:46 ride; a massive 1:39 clear of surprise second, Peter Murdoch (Paisley Velo) with Murdoch’s team mate Chris Smart a further 25 seconds back in the bronze medal position.

Scottish 25 Mile Time Trial
Iain Grant wins his third 25 Championship in a row. Photo©Martin Williamson
Scottish 25 Mile Time Trial
Peter Murdoch. Photo©Martin Williamson
Scottish 10 Mile Time Trial Championships 2014
Chris Smart. Photo©Martin Williamson

VeloVeritas had eventual fourth placed Arthur Doyle in the bronze medal spot, late in the race.

But cramp hit Doyle in the closing miles and he had to freewheel across the line, two seconds down on Smart.

Scottish 25 Mile Time Trial
Arthur Doyle. Photo©Martin Williamson

Sandy Wallace’s Silas Goldsworthy was fifth in 53:10 and team mate and former 50 champion, Alan Thomson sixth in 53:17.

Scottish 25 Mile Time Trial
Silas Goldsworthy. Photo©Martin Williamson

The early miles make it hard to find a rhythm with roundabouts, single carriageways, lots of arrows, marshals – then the A78, always a scenic delight.

It’s wide, flat, fast but no’ bonnie and pretty technical with the race manual listing 15 turns all told on this course.

The parcours picks up the A78 “10” course – more tarmac, barriers, road signs, gra