Sunday, June 20, 2021
HomeRaceRace ReviewsBilly Warnock Memorial Road Race 2015 - Ben Hetherington Takes the Win

Billy Warnock Memorial Road Race 2015 – Ben Hetherington Takes the Win


– Submitted by Achieve Cycling –

Using the same course as previous years, 7 laps of a rolling circuit outside of Falkirk.

The race was aggressive from the outset with the first major move being formed after ten minutes of racing, initially it contained Brad Stokes and Ben Hetherington of Achieve Northside Skinnergate and David Griffiths of Team Pro Vison, on the second lap of the race Andrew Scorey of Berwick Wheelers and Jack Rees (Achieve Northside) crossed to the trio up front who quickly established a lead of 40 secs on the bunch.

Billy Warnock Memorial Road Race
The first break. Photo©Achieve

Despite cohesive work and 44 kilometres covered in the first hour the leaders never really established any more than 30secs, with five laps completed a twenty rider strong group made the junction with the leaders containing the rest of the race favourite Steven Lawley and Pete Murdoch (Neon Velo) Phill Trodden (Moda), David Lines (Velosure), Scott Mcrossen (Paisley Velo).

The size of the now front group now meant that no one really took the initiative to drive the pace and the lead group and bunch rejoined.

For the next lap many riders attempted to force another move clear with the slight climb through the feed zone the spring board for many attacks.

With two laps to go a dangerous group of five escaped the bunch building up a lead of 20secs, the driving force Scottish National Champion Steven Lawley.

Billy Warnock Memorial Road Race
The final break. Photo©Achieve

A concerted chase by the Achieve Northside Skinnergate Team looking to set the race up for their sprinter brought the race back together with half a lap remaining.

Going into the final kilometre, Ben Hetherington of Achieve attacked into the final drag maintaining a slender lead all the way to the line to take a strong victory with Jack Rees also of Achieve winning the bunch sprint.

Billy Warnock Memorial Road Race
Ben takes the win. Photo©Achieve

Billy Warnock Memorial Road Race
Sprint for third place. Photo©Achieve

An excellent and attacking race throughout with result in question right till the final meters.

Result - Billy Warnock Memorial Road Race 2015


1. Ben Hetherington Achieve Northside Skinnergate Elite 2.30.56
2. Jack Rees Achieve Northside Skinnergate Elite at three seconds
3. Michael Nicolson Dooleys
4. Steven Lawley Neon Velo Cycling
5. David Griffiths Pro Vision
6. Jordan Doig Pedal Power
7. Craig Adams Leslie Bike
8. David Lines Velosure
9. Simon Woodliff Ayr Cycling
10. Wayne Barr Velocity44
11. Sean Stead Glasgow Nightingale
12. Paul Rennie Dooleys
13. John Gartland GJS
14. Andrew Matheson Mussleburgh
15. Jamie Kennedy Paisley Velo
16. Peter Murdoch Neon Velo
17. Ross Clark Glasgow Ivy
18. Zak Loney Team lfh
19. Finlay Young Team Moda Anon
20. Gary McCrae Leslie Bike


Here at VeloVeritas, we provide our readers with truthful, accurate, unique and informative articles about the sport we love. We attend many local races as well as work on the professional circuit, from the local "10" mile time trial to the "monuments" - classics like Milan-SanRemo and the Tour of Lombardy, the World Road and Track Championships, the winter Six Days and the Grand Tours; le Tour de France, il Giro d'Italia and la Vuelta a España.

Related Articles

Sam Robinson Memorial Road Race

Sam Robinson Memorial Road Race; A top class field raced this 78 mile event, attracting the majority of Scotland's road race talent and a number of riders from North East England, including the regional champion.The 78 mile race tackled the climbs of the Dukes Pass and 'Top of the World', based around the Trossachs and two tough finishing circuits through Balfron Town.

Le Tour de France 2014 – Stage 17; Saint-Gaudens – Saint-Lary-Soulan Pla d’Adet, 125 km. Rafal Majka Confirms

Another great stage yesterday - Peraud takes a giant step, Rafal Majka confirms, Nibali consolidates, Konig stumbles... After breakfast we had a wander round Lourdes; it's one weird place - but I said that yesterday. We decided against the finish col to Saint-Lary Pla d'Adet - dead end climbs are nitemares to get off after the stage and we figured that the action might just start on the Col de Val Louron-Azet. We got up there in plenty time, claimed our spot and waited 'til it was time to grab our caravan swag.

Het Nieuwsblad 2018 goes to Michael Valgren Andersen

"Ooooohhhhhhh!" The moan echoes around the bar; these boys are aficionados, they all know that solid Astana Dane, Michael Valgren Andersen isn't coming back - he timed his jump to perfection, there was that fatal second or two of hesitation among the frozen men behind him and he was gone, en route to win Het Nieuwsblad 2018.

Kuurne Brussels Kuurne 2018 – Dylan Groenewegen takes the sprint

Dylan Groenewegen (Lotto-Jumbo & The Netherlands) goes from way out, Arnaud Demare (FDJ & France) scrambles for his wheel but is lengths back at the line with Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain & Italy) doing well for a man whose speciality is late season races in balmy Italy, taking third. We agree it was a great sprint from the Dutchman but it wasn't a vintage Kuurne Brussels Kuurne.

Le Tour de France 2012 – Stage 10: Mâcon – Bellegarde-sur-Valserine, 194 km.

Bonjour! Today was our first outing on the Tour parcours, in the mountains it’s sometimes difficult to get on to race route, because just as in the Highlands of Scotland, there aren’t that many roads. We set the satnav for Ambronay, which was 73 kilometres into the stage but within easy reach of the autoroute and guided by Brian Blessed’s foghorn voice slipped along a network of tiny roads into the village, after we’d paid our last toll charge.

Scottish National Road Race Championships 2012

After years of trying, James McCallum (Rapha Condor Sharp) finally took his win in theScottish National Road Race in Balfron today, edging out good friend Evan Oliphant (Raleigh) in the uphill sprint after a hard-fought race, with Vanilla Bikes' Alistair Rutherford a lone third a handful of seconds behind.