Monday, May 23, 2022
HomeInterviewsJohn Archibald - CTT 25 Mile TT Champion 2020

John Archibald – CTT 25 Mile TT Champion 2020


For all the fact that the competitors now look very similar in their optimised aero tucks, POC helmets, disc wheels and kamm tailed profiled frame tubes, it’s still THE race to win.

The CTT – formerly the RTTC – 25 Mile Time Trial Championship.

In 1945 and 1948 it was won by Cyril Cartwright  who went on to win a Worlds silver medal in the individual pursuit in 1949  before taking the Empire – now Commonwealth – Games pursuit title in 1950.

In 1957 it was won by twice Commonwealth and World Amateur Pursuit Champion, Norman Sheil.

In 1961, Peace Race top 20 finisher, BBAR and End to End record breaker, John Woodburn won. 

The legend that is Alf Engers took the first of six wins in 1969.

Tour de France yellow jersey holder and British Professional Road race Champion, Sean Yates claimed the 1980 title.

Another Tour de France yellow jersey wearer, World Hour Record holder, world professional time trial and pursuit champion, Chris Boardman took the first of five titles in 1989.

In 1996 Graeme Obree became the first Scot to take the title, it adds to his World Hour records and World Pursuit titles.

The late, great Jason Macintyre took the title twice, in 2006 and 2007, becoming the second Scot to do so.

And now there’s a third Scot on the roll of honour, John Archibald, Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling, added it to his 2018 CTT 10 mile title with a 44:50 ride which also saw him lead Dan Bigham and Simon Wilson to the team title.

VeloVeritas caught up with John the day after his stunning per