Thursday, January 20, 2022
HomeNuggetsThe VeloVeritas Awards for 2021

The VeloVeritas Awards for 2021


Yes, we know, it’s been done to death but it is the Festive Season so it’s time for this kind of thing, the ‘VeloVeritas 2021 Awards.’ 

Lassies first…

* * *

Young Scottish rider of the year

Anna Shackley. A contract with SD Worx, Olympic selection, the British u23 Individual Time Trial Champion and fifth in the British Road Race Championships.

Not a bad old year for the 20 year-old. 

VeloVeritas Awards
Anna Shackley. Photo©SDWorx/Luc Claessen

* * *

Scottish cyclist of the year

Katie Archibald. No explanations required for that one, save:

  • 2nd in Olympic Games, Team Pursuit.
  • 1st in Olympic Games, Madison. 
  • 1st in European Championship, Omnium.
  • 1st in European Championship, Madison.
  • 1st in European Championship, Scratch. 
  • 3st in World Championship, Team Pursuit. 
  • 1st in World Championship, Omnium. 
  • 3rd in World Championship, Madison. 
  • 2nd in World Championship, Points race.
VeloVeritas Awards
Katie Archibald. Photo©SWpix

* * *

International track cyclists of the year

The endurance crown has to go to aforementioned Ms. Archibald.

As far as sprinters go, we think that Germany’s Ms. Lea Sophie Friedrich is a safe bet for that one with:

  • 2nd in Olympic Games, Team Sprint.
  • 1st in European Championship, Keirin. 
  • 2nd in European Championship, Team Sprint. 
  • 2nd in European Championship, Individual Sprint. 
  • 1st in World Championship, Team Sprint.
  • 2nd in World Championship, Individual Sprint. 
  • 1st in World Championship, 500 m TT 
  • 1st in World Championship, Keirin.

… and she’s 21 years-old.

VeloVeritas Awards
Lea Sophie Friedrich. Photo©RND

* * *

International road cyclist of the year

Annemiek Van Vleuten [Movistar & The Netherlands] world ranked number one with 13 wins including Flanders, Donostia and the Tour of Norway.

Annemiek Van Vleuten. Photo©Getty

Honourable mention to World Ladi